2014 LPN Awards of Excellence winners and nominees

2014 Awards of Excellence Winners
2014 LPN Awards of Excellence Winners – (left to right) Mohamed Abazinab, LPN; Charlotte Hnatiuk, RN; Lynn Bursaw, LPN; Stephanie Miller, LPN

Diverse in background but united in spirit, this year’s nominees and recipient of the 2014 LPN Awards of Excellence represent the best the Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) and associated health professions have to offer.

These special nurses were celebrated during the Awards Dinner on May 1 in Edmonton at the annual Conference of the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta (CLPNA).

LPN winners received a commemorative crystal award and $1000. Award recipients are selected by a committee of the Fredrickson-McGregor Education Foundation for LPNs on behalf of CLPNA.

RELATED – About the LPN Awards of Excellence

Feature article in CARE magazine

A four-page article about the Award Winners is featured in the Summer 2014 issue of CARE magazine:

Pat Fredrickson Excellence in Leadership Award

Honouring LPNs who consistently demonstrates excellence in leadership, advocacy, communication and a passion for the profession.

Winner: Stephanie Miller, LPN


  • Michelle Carew, LPN
  • Jean Collins, LPN
  • Nancy Kindler, LPN
  • Deborah Lynch, LPN
  • Vanessa McGilvery, LPN
  • Stephanie Miller, LPN
  • Carlina Padigos, LPN
  • Rosemarie Pinson, LPN
  • Valerie Rains, LPN
  • Jane Rutherford, LPN
  • Sheila Sumaylo, LPN
  • Cynthia Sutter, LPN
  • Ayshea Thornton, LPN
  • Joanne Velting, LPN

Rita McGregor Excellence in Nursing Education Award

Honouring LPNs nursing educator or a designated preceptor in a clinical setting who consistently demonstrates excellence in providing education in the workplace.

Winner: Mohamed Abazinab, LPN


  • Mohamed Abazinab, LPN
  • Ryan Falkenberg, LPN
  • Shanna Lee, LPN
  • Sumudu Pathirana, LPN
  • Jan Chris Serafico, LPN
  • Eryn Winfield, LPN

Laura Crawford Excellence in Nursing Practice Award

Honouring LPNs who display exemplary nursing knowledge, promote an atmosphere of teamwork, mentor team members, and show pride in the profession.

Winner: Lynn Bursaw, LPN


  • Lynn Bursaw, LPN
  • Angeline Chandra, LPN
  • Kevin Devine, LPN
  • Dieda John, LPN
  • Jennifer Susan King, LPN
  • Deborah Lynch, LPN
  • Heather Oulton, LPN
  • Ken Porter, LPN
  • Cynthia Proano, LPN
  • Naomi Ramsbottom, LPN
  • Riley Rath, LPN
  • Tonya Sandberg, LPN
  • Rosamond Stockden, LPN
  • Richard Terriah, LPN

Interprofessional Development Award

Recognizing non-LPN health care leaders who are instrumental in building quality practice environments.

Winner: Charlotte Hnatiuk, RN


  • Angela Baird
  • Terry Ann Comen
  • Charlotte Hnatiuk

The CLPNA congratulations all nominees and recipients!