Edmonton, Calgary and northern Alberta election results to CLPNA Council

2017 Council Elections (l-r): Jean Collins, LPN (Calgary & area) and May Mejia, LPN (Edmonton & area)

LPNs voted like never before! More than 2000 ballots were cast in June’s election resulting in one new and three incumbent representatives to CLPNA’s Council for the next term.

The Edmonton area chose a new District Representative in May Mejia, LPN. Calgary’s LPNs voted for a second term for Jean Collins, LPN in a race between four candidates. The remaining two representatives from District 6 (Grande Prairie and area) and District 7 (Fort McMurray and area) were elected by acclamation.

Congratulations were extended by the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta to the new and returning Council members.


3-Year Term

  • DISTRICT 2: CALGARY (& area) – Jean Collins, LPN (2nd term)
  • DISTRICT 4: EDMONTON (& area) – May Mejia, LPN (1st term)

1-Year Term

There was a single nominee for both Districts 6 and 7, which happened to be the current District Representatives. As per CLPNA Bylaws, the Council approved the nominees by acclamation.

  • DISTRICT 6: NORTH WEST (Grande Prairie & area) – Joyce Rossiter, LPN (2nd term)
  • DISTRICT 7: NORTH (Fort McMurray & area) – Sara Schmidt, LPN (2nd term)

The different term length are a result of the Council Terms of Office Transition Plan. By 2018, all Districts will be on a staggered schedule of three-year terms.

To learn more about the District Representatives, view their Profile including their nomination video on the Council Members page. (Don’t know your District? Use “Find My Election District”.)

READ MORE – Council Members

LPNs voted in Council Elections from June 14-30. Ballots were emailed to LPNs residing in Election Districts and voting took place online.

RELATED – About CLPNA’s Council

The Council is the governing body of the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta (CLPNA) consisting of Licensed Practical Nurses elected from each of the seven CLPNA Districts, plus the President, and government-appointed public members.

2 Responses to “Edmonton, Calgary and northern Alberta election results to CLPNA Council”

  1. Congratulations to all LPN s who put their name forward for this wonderful opportunity. Wonderful news for the incumbents and the new members on your advancement to the council. May you ecjoy the experience as I did in my 4 years in Edmonton. Sincerely Diane Larsen LPN

  2. Thanks Diane
    I will miss you at council. Thankyou for your dedication
    In working as your zone representative for the two terms on council.