Calgary and Edmonton area LPNs can run for CLPNA’s Council

Leadership and wisdom. A big picture thinker with a focus on nursing regulation. Those are just some of the attributes being sought from those interested in running for a Council position for the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta (CLPNA).

The Calgary and Edmonton Election Districts require a Licensed Practical Nurse representative. The nominations process closes on July 15, 2020, and the election runs in August.

The Council thanks Jean Collins, LPN, for graciously representing the Calgary area (District 2) over two terms since 2015. She will not be eligible to run for another term. Additionally, the Council thanks Jennifer Peace, LPN, on completion of her first term representing the Edmonton area (District 4) since 2017. Jennifer is eligible to run again in the upcoming election, if she so chooses.

CLPNA District-RHA Map-01_WEB


THREE-YEAR TERM – Sept. 2020 to Aug. 2023


How to Run for Council

Education, experience, knowledge and a variety of other competencies are desired from CLPNA Council Members.

Eligible LPNs must hold a current Active CLPNA Practice Permit, be in good standing with the CLPNA, and live in the Election District.

Nomination Forms must be submitted by July 15, 2020.

Use “Find My Election District” to determine your home’s district.

Council’s role is to govern the profession and oversee the CLPNA’s management, actions, and policy development within the framework of the Health Professions Act. They meet quarterly with occasional additional meetings or teleconferences. The three-year terms begin September.

The CLPNA’s primary responsibility is regulating the LPN profession, setting and maintaining standards to ensure the public receives safe, competent, and ethical healthcare services. The CLPNA is governed by a Council, which consists of members of the profession (elected by peers) and three government-appointed public members.

Questions? Contact Executive Assistant Marjorie Malenfant at, 780-484-8886 or 1-800-661-5877 (toll-free in Alberta).